In March, 1930, the control and administration of the officers who had been enforcing the Highway Traffic Act under the supervision of the Department of Public Highways was transferred to the Department of the Attorney-General under the Commissioner of the Ontario Provincial Police. A combined Provincial and Municipal Police Training School was inaugurated at Toronto in March, 1935. This school provides advanced training in medical, legal, scientific and technical activities for provincial and municipal police officers.

By the Police Act, 1946, proclaimed Feb. 1, 1947, all former legislation and amendments dealing with constables were repealed. Under this Act, the duties and responsibilities of police forces are, for the first time in the history of the Province, clearly defined. Up to May 5, 1949, 72 municipalities have availed themselves of the provisions of the Police Act for the policing of their municipalities by the Ontario Provincial Police.

At present the Force, with a strength of approximately 1,017, consists of a General Headquarters at Toronto and 16 Districts with headquarters at Chatham, London, Dundas, Niagara Falls, Aurora, Mount Forest, Barrie, Peterborough, Belleville, Perth, Cornwall, Haileybury, Sudbury, Cochrane, Port Arthur and Kenora. Each District has detachments adequate to meet law-enforcement requirements. A Criminal Investigation Branch of the Force, under the command of a Chief Inspector, is maintained at Toronto. This Branch investigates crimes of a major nature. The installation of one of the largest police frequency modulation radio systems in the world has placed at the command of the police a most efficient method of combating every type of lawlessness.

There were in operation in 1949 41 fixed stations and 300 two-way radio cruisers. The 250-watt stations at District Headquarters are open 24 hours daily and many of the cars are on continuous round-the-clock patrols.

British Columbia Provincial Police.—The organization of a permanent police force in British Columbia followed the influx of gold seekers on the Fraser River in 1858. Prior to that time police protection on Vancouver Island had been of a volunteer nature, the settlers themselves forming posses to apprehend flagrant law breakers.

On July 7, 1858, a Commissioner of Police was appointed together with a chief constable, a sergeant and four or five constables and a staff to maintain a gaol for Vancouver Island. The Governor was alive to the necessity of a police force for the gold-field area of British Columbia and Gold Commissioners were appointed under the Goldfields Act to each of whom were assigned six police officers. Instructions, however, came from the Governor.

The Commissioner continued the supervision of the police on Vancouver Island, acting at the same time as Magistrate for the community at Victoria.

It will be seen from these regulations that control of the police was somewhat divided but in 1866 the Crown colonies of Vancouver Island and British Columbia were united and the police came under one head at Victoria. New territory was opened up and local justices of the peace were empowered to swear in special constables in cases of necessity.

In these early days the duties of a constable were interwoven with the tasks of other Government branches such as the collection of revenue and other offices unrelated to law enforcement. As time went on, however, the duties gravitated to full-time police service and police districts were established under the control of a